About IFP Group

The IFP Group was founded by Professor Thomas S. Huang (1936 - 2020) in the 80s, started as Image Formation and Processing Group at Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. Over the years, the IFP Group has pursued research and innovation beyond images, inlcuding Image and Video Coding, Multimodal Human Computer Interaction, Multimedia Annotation and Search, Computer Vision and Pattern Recognition, Machine Learning, Big Data, Deep Learning and High Performance Computing. The current IFP research direction is to solve problems in multimodal information processing by synergistically combining Big Data, Deep Learning, and High Performance Computing. IFP has been famous for having an environment conducive to innovative/independent research. Of course, most of the research projects need eventually align with the main research theme.

In a more general sense, the IFP Group includes friends, students, students of students, students of students of students, or even students of students of students of students since Professor Huang's starting as a faculty member at MIT in the 1960s. The IFPers have proudly accomplished numerous cutting edge research projects in collaboration with academia, industry and goverment agencies, awarded multiple best papers at top conferences in AI, and won many international competitions including the first NIST TrecVID, the first ImageNet Challenge, and the first AI City Challenge. Our IFP Alumni strive to make a difference in both academia and industry, and some even lead expeditions from engineering to laws, humanities, and arts. Above all, we stay together as a proud IFP Family.

Contact Us Google scholar Memorial Website Video Thomas S. Huang Memorial Prize

Current Faculty & Staff

Contact Me:

Humphrey Shi

IFP Co-Leader At Large,
Graduate Faculty Member

Contact Me:

Paritosh Garg

Sr Research Programmer,
Beckman Institute

Current Students

Contact Me:

Haichao Yu


Contact Me:

Hanchao Yu


Contact Me:

Yuqian Zhou


Contact Me:

Bowen Cheng


Contact Me:

Zhonghao Wang

PhD candidate, ECE, UIUC

Contact Me:

Xingqian Xu

PhD candidate, ECE, UIUC

Contact Me:

MangTik Chiu

PhD candidate, ECE, UIUC

Contact Me:

Jiachen Li

PhD candidate, ECE, UIUC

Recent Alumni

Contact Me:

Yuchen Fan


Contact Me:

Yang Fu

PhD stduent, UCSD

Contact Me:

Haoming Lu

AWS Shanghai AI Lab

Contact Me:

Yiqun Mei

PhD Student, JHU

Contact Me:

Kuangxiao Gu


Contact Me:

Jiahui Yu

Google Brain

Contact Me:

Zilong Huang

Alibaba Damo Academy

Contact Me:

Yunchao Wei

University Tech. Sydney

Contact Me:

Hao Li

Student, EE, Tsinghua

Contact Me:

Zengming Shen

CCC Info Services

Contact Me:

Tianxi Zhao


Contact Me:

Zhiqiang Shen

Postdoc, CMU

Contact Me:

Rui Qian

PhD Student, Cornell

Contact Me:

Xiaolin Zhang

Student, CS, UTS

Contact Me:

Jianbo Jiao

Postdoc, VGG, Oxford

Contact Me:

Ding Liu

ByteDance AI Lab

Contact Me:

Wei Han

Google Brain

Contact Me:

Ning Xu

Adobe Research

Contact Me:

Xinchao Wang

Stevens Inst. of Tech.

Contact Me:

Zhichao Liu

Graduate student, UMD

Contact Me:

Pooya Khorrami

MIT Lincoln Lab

Contact Me:

Tom Le Paine


Contact Me:

Prajit R.

Google Brain

Contact Me:

Jiangping Wang


Contact Me:

Yingzhen Yang

Baidu USA

Contact Me:

Zhangyang Wang

UT Austin

Contact Me:

Shiyu Chang

MIT-IBM Watson AI Lab

Contact Me:

Xianming Liu


More IFPers

Alan Bovik - UT Austin

Aleksandar Miodrag Ivanovic

Alfred She - Code Fellows

Amit Sethi - Indian Institute of Technology Guwahati

Anthony Edmund Filip - MIT Lincoln Lab

Antonio J. Colmenarez - Philips Research Lab

Ashutosh Garg - Bloomreach Inc.

Atulya Velivelli

Brendan Frey - University of Toronto

Brian T. O'Connor

Chang Wen Chen - Unversity of Buffalo

Charlie Dagli - MIT Lincoln Labs

Chong-Wah Ngo - Hong Kong University of Science & Technology

D. A. Baker

Dennis Lin - Google

Dmitry B. Goldgof - University of South Florida

George Yang

Grant B. Anderson - University of British Columbia

Gregory Manson Robbins - Bell Lab

Gregory Y. Tang - National Taiwan University (retired)

Guo-Jun Qi - University of Central Florida

Hai Tao - Founder of Beijing Vion Technology, Inc.

Haichao Zhang - Baidu

Hanning Zhou - Hulu

Hao Pan - Apple

Henry Hao Tang - Apple

Homer Chen - National Taiwan University

Huazhong Ning - Facebook

Ira Cohen - Anodot

James William Burnett - TRW Inc

Jason Xun Xu - Blippar

Jialin Zhong - Attorney at Lowenstein Sandler LLP

Jianchao Yang - Snapchat

Jilin Tu - General Electric

Jim Kuch - Sony Electronics

John Lin - Google

John William Woods - Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Jong-Keung Cheng - Atmel Corporation

Juyang Weng - Michigan State University

Kai-Hsiang Sean Lin - Industrial Technology Research Institute

Kannappan Palaniappan - University of Missouri-Columbia

Lawrence Chen - Sharp Labs of America

Li-An Tang - Intel Corporation

Liangliang Cao - HelloVera & Columbia

Liyu Gong - Six Rooms Inc

Mandar Rahurkar

Mert Dikmen - Google

Michael Lew - Leiden University

Michel Dubois - University of Southern California

Milind Naphade - Nvidia

Min-Hsuan Tsai - Google

Ming Liu - eBay

Mingyu (Stephen) Chu - IBM

Minqiang Xu - Alibaba

Mithun Das Gupta - IBM Research Labs India

Mohammad Gharavi-Alkhansari - Sony Electronics

Mun Keung Leung

Munehiro Nakazato - Apple

Nebojsa Jojic - Microsoft

Nelson J. Bridwell - ATS Automation Tooling Systems

Nemanja Petrovic - Google

Pengyu Hong - Brandeis University

Qi Tian - University of Texas at San Antonio

Qiang Cheng - Southern Illinois University

Qiong Liu - FXPAL

Ricardo Lopez - Itron

Richard Qian - Microsoft

Robert Louis Yen - Eclipse Photographer and Blogger

Roger Y. Tsai - Fordham University

Roy Wang - Marvell Semiconductor

Shen Fu Edmond Tsai - Google

Shuicheng Simon Yan - NUS/Qihoo 360

Shyam Rajaram - Facebook

Steven Blostein - Queens University

Steven Todd Cvetko - Novarad Corporation

Terrence Chen - Siemens

Thang Nguyen

Tony Xu Han - Jingchi

Usman Tariq - American University of Sharjah

Vladimir Pavlovic - Rutgers University

Vuong Le - Deakin University

Wai-Hon Lee - Hoetron Inc

Xi Zhou - CloudWalk Technology

Xiang Sean Zhou - United Imaging Intelligence

Xingdou Fu - Omron Corporation

Xinqi Chu - Institute for Infocomm Research

Xu Zhao - Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Yang Li

Yi Kang - Spreadtrum

Ying Wu - Northwestern

Yong Rui - Lenovo

Yu Huang - Intel

Yue Zhou - Houzz

Yun Raymond Fu - Northeastern

Yuncai Liu - Shanghai Jiao Tong University

Yunqiang Chen - Siemens

Yuxiao Hu - Huawei

Zhaowen Wang - Adobe

Zhen Li - Google

Zhen Wen - Alibaba

Zhengqiu Zhang - Sun Trading LLC

Zhihong John Zeng - Park Assist LLC

Ziyou Xiong - United Technologies Research Center